Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-03-2010, 10:49 PM
LawnSite Member

college/business can it be done

hey everybody i'm matt, and im a senior in highschool. i know this has been discussed many times on here but everybody has a different situation so this is to all of yinz who have cut and went to a 4 year college without sacraficing one or the other. i am new to Lawnsite so ill tell yinz a little about myself. i will be going to The University of Pittsburgh for Mechanical Engineering and i have 7 accounts as of now. i would like to expand to about 13-18 accounts just to help pay my way through college (new truck, books, gas to drive 40 minutes to pitt and back everyday etc.). i am also going to schedule my classes early or real late so that i can come home and have about 3-4 hours of cutting time. i plan to keep a tight route as well. i understand college is a full time job within itself but a lot of my friends in a 4 year college have atleast 4 hours or so of free time each day and still manage to get good grades. i am not giving up cutting grass (fast, easy, enjoyable money which seems to make college bills a little less stressful and trust me ive been a stockboy, dishwasher etc. so im not trying to go back to that) I really value an education so im making sure college is my first priority. all in all, i just would like to know if any of you guys were able to do both (like i said i dont want more than 18 yards at most) and what yinz reccomend as a "battle plan" for the next 4 years so that dont end up as another overworking, in debt, horrible grades, college student.

any input good or bad is appreciated!
Old 03-04-2010, 01:54 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

My take

Here's what I do. I think I have been very lucky with my current setup.