Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 06-13-2002, 12:21 PM
LawnSite Member

Newbie in need of advice

Hi all,

This is my first post on the board, and I'm really a lawn care newbie.

We just moved into a new home, and I've never had a yard to take care of before. I'm really clueless on where to start. The owners before us did not take any pride in their yard from what I can tell, and it's really a mess as far as the lawns are concerned.

I'll try to describe the yard a little bit. Basically, I can see little to no remnant of a lawn whatsoever. Both the front and back consist of mainly weeds and just about every manner of undesirable growth I can think of. For that reason, I'm considering having an inch or so cut off the top throughout the areas where I would like grass, then follow that up with top soil and some sod. There are lots of landscapers and turf farms out here, but I don't really know who handles what for this job.

I work full time and go to school part time, so I don't have the time or energy to renovate my yard from scratch, which is basically what it needs. I can handle the watering, mowing, and regular maintenance, but I don't have the time or experience to get up and running on my own.

I'm basically trying to figure out the best way to go about removing all the nasty growth throughout the property, then proceed to lay turf upon a nice new layer of top soil. Does this sound like a viable option? I know it's probably not the most cost effective approach, but as I mentioned, I don't have the experience to handle the job by myself.

Would this be the best way to get up and running? I'm really ashamed at how the yard looks right now, and I just want to have a decent lawn. What are the steps I should take here? things to consider? I'm totally open to suggestions. I'm guessing I can hire a landscaper to cut the top and lay the soil, then have a turf farm lay the new stuff down. Is that right?