Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-06-2010, 08:48 PM
duranlandscaping's Avatar
duranlandscaping duranlandscaping is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 76
Locked Up

The brakes on my open trailer lock up everytime that I hook them into the truck. Was doing it off and on last season but now they will not release unless i unplug them. Anyone have any ideas on what this could be? Dead battery on the breakaway kit? New Plunger?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-2010, 08:55 PM
PROPERTYLAWNSERVICELLC PROPERTYLAWNSERVICELLC is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: newberry fl
Posts: 3,176
sounds like a short
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-2010, 09:31 PM
mowisme mowisme is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fitchburg, Wisconsin
Posts: 816
controler maybe?

My controller has a 'wheel' you turn to make them more sesitive or less sensitive..( more voltage to them=more sensitive I think but not sure?).. any chance yours has this wheel or lever and it got bumped to point they are on always? maybe controller is bad?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-2010, 09:40 PM
360ci 360ci is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 985
I'd take a multimeter to the lines first and see if you can't oHm anything out. First, be sure to use some white grease on the contact points and see how that works for you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-2010, 09:59 PM
P.Services's Avatar
P.Services P.Services is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fenton Michigan
Posts: 6,081
dont feed it so many steak bones. mama use to tell us not to feed the hound so many bones or he will get locked up. I never knew what she meant but you cleared it up.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-06-2010, 10:56 PM
esnipe8 esnipe8 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Clovis, Ca
Posts: 264
Ours was doing the same. I think it ended up being either a dead battery or a back plug connection. Did the plug ever come out while driving and drag on the pavement?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-06-2010, 11:36 PM
duranlandscaping's Avatar
duranlandscaping duranlandscaping is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 76
The plunger got ripped out. My brother pulled forward before i took the cable off the hitch. The plunger went back in. I don't know if I need to replace that or not. The plug from the truck has never come loose. Brand new controller. When I plug in the brakes the controller will not recognize that it is connected but brakes instantly lock.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-07-2010, 08:21 AM
Horsepower Lawns Horsepower Lawns is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Clermont/Indy IN
Posts: 213
Quote:
Originally Posted by duranlandscaping View Post
The plunger got ripped out. My brother pulled forward before i took the cable off the hitch. The plunger went back in. I don't know if I need to replace that or not. The plug from the truck has never come loose. Brand new controller. When I plug in the brakes the controller will not recognize that it is connected but brakes instantly lock.
Someone moved the brake wire to the hot wire spot. So, when you plug it in it gets full power on the brakes and locks them up or the wire is lose inside the plug.
Or.
The breakaway switch pin is broken or not in all the way. So when you plug it in the hot wire on the truck charges the battery and because the pin out/broken it get full power.
__________________

Horsepower Lawns LLC
Noblesville, IN
www.horsepowerlawns.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-07-2010, 10:29 AM
duranlandscaping's Avatar
duranlandscaping duranlandscaping is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horsepower Lawns View Post
Someone moved the brake wire to the hot wire spot. So, when you plug it in it gets full power on the brakes and locks them up or the wire is lose inside the plug.
Or.
The breakaway switch pin is broken or not in all the way. So when you plug it in the hot wire on the truck charges the battery and because the pin out/broken it get full power.
This is what I was thinking. Can i just replace the plunger on the breakaway or the whole unit that it plugs into and resplice it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-07-2010, 12:35 PM
Horsepower Lawns Horsepower Lawns is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Clermont/Indy IN
Posts: 213
You can do either. But, just the pin and cable is almost as much as the whole thing.
__________________

Horsepower Lawns LLC
Noblesville, IN
www.horsepowerlawns.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 AM.

Page generated in 0.09510 seconds with 7 queries