Register free!

Old 03-13-2010, 02:09 PM
LawnSite Member

Mulch insect problems

I have noticed that everyone seems to use mulch around their water features. I am just getting into landscaping and dont know much about mulch.

Have you guys had any problems with insects/roaches etc.. living in the mulch?

I have heard that if you use cedar it helps with that is that true?
Old 03-17-2010, 11:37 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I never use mulch around a pond. There is always a chance that it will be blown in or washed in during a heavy rain. Some mulches are treated with colorants and/or who knows what that could be a source of water contamination. Why take the chance?
Old 03-17-2010, 12:29 PM
LawnSite Member

Been thinking the same thing .... bet better than 95% are mulched up within inches of edges.
Usually see the shredded stuff more than anything. That stuff sticks together pretty well. Had some gully washers past few years. One would think it would be an issue but everyone always says "no prob". Makes me nervous myself
Old 03-17-2010, 01:10 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by tadpole View Post
I never use mulch around a pond. There is always a chance that it will be blown in or washed in during a heavy rain. Some mulches are treated with colorants and/or who knows what that could be a source of water contamination. Why take the chance?
Good point.. how do you do your edges.. just grass right up to the boulder/gravel?

Also I tried doing that once and the homeowner thought it was going to be hard to cut the grass, so thats why I thought I would give the mulch a try and go around it and make it easier to mow around.
Old 03-17-2010, 02:00 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member