Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-29-2010, 11:41 AM
LawnSite Member

Mulch installation, can you look over my numbers

I know some of you have a hard time looking at post like this. But I just want to make sure I am close to being right on my numbers.

The bed prep will consist of pulling weeds around all mulch beds. Edge is already defined. There is A LOT which im going to estimate at 3 hrs max. - $75

Next the H.O wants 5 large bushes cut off at the base. Doesn't want them dug up just cut off and covered up. - $50

One tree to be trimmed, not very big. - $20

There is 1125 SF of mulch which is about 10.5 cubic yards. I will provide 11 yards. For the 11 yards installed, including me buying mulch will be - $550

The delivery fee for mulch will be $45

Tax will be $71.04

For a grand total of $811.04

After all of my cost for fuel, mulch. I should be getting around $41 per man hour.

Do my number sound good, I am new to the mulch installs and all. I usually just do mowing.
Old 03-29-2010, 11:51 AM
LawnSite Gold Member

Are you planning on putting down 3" of mulch? Seems like lot of mulch for the area unless they have never had mulch before. How much are you paying for mulch? It seems very cheap. I don't think you will make any money on this job. I would be 50% more than you on the job.
Old 03-29-2010, 11:56 AM
LawnSite Member

sounds to me like you need more mulch than that. if you spread a yard of mulch one inch thick it will cover 125sf. you will only be spreading it one inch thick?
Old 03-29-2010, 11:57 AM
LawnSite Member

Yeah they are wanting 3" of mulch put down. He is wanting just the plain jane $16 per sf mulch. It is friend/family member. So im trying not to break the bank on them either. I figured the amount I would pull all said and done would be around $415 over the 10 hours which would put me pulling $41 or so an hour.