Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 04-20-2010, 07:06 AM
LawnSite Member

Pet Waste Removal - Want to mow!

I am new to this site and an entrepreneur to the core. I'm 28, out of SW VA and for 2 years I have been scooping poop for a living. It's only part time but I have around 30 customers I service on a weekly basis. Here is the site: www.TheScoopGroup.net

I am now highly considering starting a landscaping service that mow's, trims, edges etc. I took landscaping in high school but that was obviously 10 years ago so I have forgotten a lot of it. Right now all I have is a push mower and I couldn't even tell you the brand without walking down in my basement so I am far from being ready.

That being said there are 3 reasons I would love to get into this biz.
1. Being outside, period!
2. The income per yard is significantly higher than what I charger for scooping
3. I have noticed that a lot of my customers also use a lawn service and feel that my service goes hand in hand.

Over the next year I'd like to start accumulating necessary equipment for next year, let the economy heal some more, learn a sh*t ton, and be ready to market myself by the spring. I may even get a job with a landscaping company a few days a week to learn and/or take a class or 2 at the local community college.

What are your thoughts and opinions on me adding landscaping to my provided services?

It seems that there are a ton of Landscapers in my area I don't know if it should deter me or make me realize there is a ton of work to be had.

Thanks for any input!
Old 04-20-2010, 07:30 AM
LawnSite Member

I have been in the green business for over 30 years and have done every aspect, and the most important think I have learned is that offering too many services turns into a head ache with decreasing profits. I learned that doing a few things very well and increasing volume paid much higher profits and made life better.