Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 07-10-2000, 06:40 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Hey all. I am new to the business and this site (great site) and was wondering how you get all your accounts. I have business cards and fliers everywhere and the word of mouth method isn't working. Help!!
Old 07-10-2000, 07:08 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Not all areas of the country/world (tip of the hat to Southside) are experiencing shortages of lawn care companies. Word of mouth referals take time to build up. When you are first starting out you will get virtually no word of mouth business. Just do the best job that you can and the work will come to you. While you're waiting for that to happen though keep passing out the flyers and business cards.
Old 07-10-2000, 07:15 PM
LawnSite Member

Word of mouth is best form of advertising. But like Richard said, virtually none at first. The referrals for estimates are better than other forms of advertising because you have already sold yourself via your work. I tend to bid higher on these referrals and the people always take it. Just be sure to keep the workmanship and quality consistant. Walk around every account when you are done, we call these walk-throughs and always do them. Its easy to miss something when looking down trimming or looking for your mow lines. Pretend you are the customer and its your yard. Just my $.02<p>Other forms of advertising we use are:<p>Yellow pages.<br>Local Papers.<br>Flyers.<br>Business cards.<br>Referral Programs.<p>----------<br>Mike Reynolds,<br>GrassRoots Lawn Care, Florida
Old 07-10-2000, 07:36 PM
LawnSite Fanatic