Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 05-22-2010, 08:46 AM
LawnSite Member

Too Old to Start a Lawn Care Business?

Last March I was downsized and started to do lawncare. I paid cash for new equipment from my severance package and started to develop a small customer base. I'm in my second year of lawn care and have a customer base of about 25 clients as a solo. I am 46 yrs old and in good shape, but how long will I feel good doing this? ( question to myself)

Anybody over 40 working as a solo and planning to do this for the next 15 - 20 years?

I do have a 4 yr degree, but with the economy the way it is I gave up sending out resume after resume and only a couple interviews. So I continued to move forward with the business and working on getting a few more customers to around 30-35.

My wife is a teacher and covers the health insurance, so that is a bonus. And she likes the daily cash flow from the lawn business.

Anyone in a similar situation? - thoughts, comments? thx
Old 05-22-2010, 09:00 AM
LawnSite Member

yep

Since nobody replied I will. I think what you have for the second year is great. I know the old bones and muscles ache a little more as time goes around. If you keep adding clients to your business, you can always find help.
Pay a few college kids or high school kids and if you treat them well, they will treat you well. Plus you will be making more money to afford them. You started a business and your adding to the job market. Not bad is it?
Old 05-22-2010, 09:17 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

I'm 48 and in my 9th season. My teenage son is helping out more now but for the most part I'm solo. I have to work short days at first in the spring until I get back in shape after sitting on my tail all winter waiting for it to snow, but once I get past the first couple weeks I can still bust my tail all day long. I'm a former endurance athelete so I don't mind sore muscles and aches and pains...makes me feel alive, lol.