Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 05-29-2010, 07:53 AM
LawnSite Member

New member - Question regarding very old Nightingale/Kim fixtures

I'm not a lighting pro, but I'm not a DIYer looking for free tips, either... I respect what's discussed and done here. If I eventually have enough funding to cover a real lighting job, I'll hire one of you. I have personal interests in archaic lighting tech, and I collect vintage light fixtures of all sorts.

Few years ago, I found F. B. Nightingale's 1958 "Garden Lighting" book in a local library, and to my surprise (I had assumed it'd be impossible to find) the librarian found it on Amazon, and I soon had my own copy. It's really a fantastic book both from technical and historical standpoints. I understand that Bill Locklin invented and perfected the original low voltage systems, but it seems Nightingale began the idea of garden lights that blend into their surroundings... I'm fascinated by some of these fixtures, some using some technology that seems forgotten today in garden lighting, though some of it is a bit wild by today's standards. I'm curious as to whether anyone here has ever encountered any of Nightingale's unusual specialty fixtures.