Register free!

Old 06-05-2010, 11:28 AM
LawnSite Member

Question - Installing Bullnose Pool Coping

I have plenty of paver experience but this is my first installing pool coping. I am installing Belgard Pavers around a vinyl liner pool with steel walls along with a bullnose pool coping paver. The top of the pool steel wall has a pvc track that connects to the liner. This track causes the front edge to be higher than the back edge. (photo included) I will be pouring a 3 ft concrete base out from the pool dropped to allow for a sand base. I know to use the expansion joint between the row of coping and the pavers. I need some experienced advice for how to attach the coping and how to obtain level. I have seen posting stating use mortor, adhesive, thinset. I don't want these popping off later. Thanks.
Attached Images

Old 06-06-2010, 09:57 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

Use thinset mortar and a small level to guage your slope.
Old 06-07-2010, 10:59 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

We use modified thinset. Modified is a heavy mix for heavier items, like pavers.

Peace,

Rex

http://PaversInstalled.com
Old 06-07-2010, 05:28 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rex Mann View Post
We use modified thinset. Modified is a heavy mix for heavier items, like pavers.

Peace,

Rex

http://PaversInstalled.com
That is right, we use a modified thinset mortar. Have done at least 30 pools in last 3 yrs using that stuff. No problems up to now.
Old 05-10-2015, 07:54 PM
LawnSite Member

Sorry to drag this old thread back to life, bu I am doing a pool coming up pretty soon here, same as the one pictured above. I was also told a few different options, and just not sure which to go with.
All of them said to pour a 5,000 PSI concrete base all the way around about 12" off the edge of the pool, the bull nose is 12" in length and will have a 1" over hang, exactly as pictured above.