Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 07-12-2010, 10:54 PM
LawnSite Member

DC Latching Solenoids

Ok, let me start by saying I'm sorry if this has been addressed several times before. That being said, I've recently started work on a property that uses several battery operated controllers, namely the old irritrol IBOC. I've never worked with these before, and I have a few questions about trouble shooting. I have a few zones stuck open and a few that don't come on at all.

Normally when I encounter valves that are stuck open, I take the valve apart, replace the diaphragm, and for a few bucks in parts and a few minutes of time, the problem is solved.

I'm not sure if this will hold with valves with the DC latching solenoids. I know these get a signal to open, and then another to close. Do these solenoids tend to fail in a way where they don't close, or should I still be thinking diaphragm first? Is there anyway to tell with these solenoids if they are opening and closing properly?

Any general info or trouble shooting suggestions/differences when using these systems would be very much appreciated. Thanks.
Old 07-12-2010, 11:47 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I would first start with the batteries. I don't know how old the timer is that you are talking about. Do you have two batteries, or one?
In any event, I would change out the batteries first, if you don't know how old they are.
How far are your runs to your valves? Sometimes you can unhook the batteries and reprogram the clock.
The splices on a battery operated timer are very important. You really can't be losing much, if you have long runs, and have the zone still work. You really need to find all the valves. I have seen other contractors put regular solenoids on DC systems. 'Course that won't make the valve stick open.
If you know what zone is stuck on, go to the controller and turn that zone on and then off. It sometimes takes a few seconds for the valve to respond.