Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 08-07-2010, 10:00 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Manifold vs. Inline valves

As a new installer I would like to have some experienced installers help me understand the advantages of going with valves closer to the zone off a lateral vs. a manifold system. I like the idea of a manifold setup but I haven't seen one that was easy to work on? The valve located off a lateral near the zone it controls is nice but they get lost easy after some years. I could see manifolds causing a bunch of pipe in the same trench.. seems hard for repairs down the rd.

Talk to me... or argue. I expect and enjoy both.
Old 08-07-2010, 10:06 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I have a difficult time arguing the point when I have to read the lawn jockey sig.
Old 08-07-2010, 11:33 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

I appreciate the educational feedback. Not sure what a signature has to do with the question, that signature is well over 4 years old. I modified it just for you as to entice you to share your wisdom.
Old 08-08-2010, 12:52 AM
LawnSite Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlouki01 View Post
I appreciate the educational feedback. Not sure what a signature has to do with the question, that signature is well over 4 years old. I modified it just for you as to entice you to share your wisdom.
Obviously the signature has nothing to do with the question, but the nomanclature of this particular forum is not receptive to equipment signatures.

People take very clear sides on this topic. I think taking a stance on either side is a mistake. The landscape design dictates valve placement. If one had a 20 zone landscape with a turf area in the middle one might be inclined to run one to two valves per box in the landscaped area and run a manifold for the turf.

BTW laterals are from the valve to the emitter.