Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 08-09-2010, 08:11 PM
LawnSite Member

Where to begin

Hello Everyone...
Allow me to introduce myself, My name is Jose L Cruz.... I currently am working for a medium sized lawn care business. I have been grooming lawns for about 10 years now. I am currently the foreman in charge of the cutting crews..
I am 36 and as time goes by I see really no future unfortunately where I am. So after years of thinking of going off on my own I believe I am ready to start taking steps to start next year.
I have savings of 16,000 that I have been stashing for years just for this.
Basically there's alot of info as to where to go, and how to go about doing it, but what is the Very First thing you guys recommend I do.
Do I spend my money on the equipment and hope costumers call, do I find customers first, do I register first with the city and town. Do I open a bank account under the business...
And if this question has been asked because I am sure it has please link me.
I would like to concentrate on Mowing lawns, mulching, replacing sod, slice seeding, dethatching, things I routinely do, and have knowledge of.
I value your advice here on the forum, I want to be one of YOU successful lawn service professionals.... Help me be one
With many thanks,,,,,
Jose Luis Cruz
Old 08-09-2010, 08:20 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Start off by looking into what it would cost you to start the business i.e. registering a name, getting a gen liab policy, how much advertising would cost you. I def do not recommend quitting your job and and just depending on a new business to bring money in for you. If I where you I would continue to work for the company you currently do and try to pick up some lawns to cut on the side maybe after work or on your days off and build from there. DO NOT steal customers away from your current employer or take business away from them.
Old 08-09-2010, 08:37 PM
LawnSite Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruz717 View Post