Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-13-2010, 07:01 PM
CAPT Stream Rotar's Avatar
CAPT Stream Rotar CAPT Stream Rotar is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cape Cod, Ma
Posts: 5,441
Lol!

its what came out of the interface!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-13-2010, 07:18 PM
irritation's Avatar
irritation irritation is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAPT Stream Rotar View Post
Lol!

its what came out of the interface!
All phone wire I've seen is 22- 24 ga. That looks a lot bigger to me.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-13-2010, 07:18 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAPT Stream Rotar View Post
Lol!

its what came out of the interface!
twist all of the wires together since you can get to them and trace the wire, you'll need to run an extended ground wire to prevent return to ground problems.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-13-2010, 09:29 PM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,799
If it's a shielded phone wire then I typically connect the 521 to the shield.
If there are obvious wires that are not being used then you can connect to one of them.
Always make sure and pay attention to the utility locations and where they enter the house.
If in doubt use your "witching sticks" to see if anything might possibly be in the area that you are trenching/pulling/boring.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-13-2010, 10:17 PM
S&MLL S&MLL is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Somerset County NJ
Posts: 764
Phones ring at about 40-50 volts. If your line spikes to 90-110 volts you better call the phone company.

http://www.summitsource.com/product_...oducts_id=4855


Use those chicklets to splice.

For cable we keep some f connectors and barrels for temp fixing the line. Never want these homeowners to loose 911 calling.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-13-2010, 10:34 PM
Waterlogged's Avatar
Waterlogged Waterlogged is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 500
CAPT stream rotor Sorry to hear about your baby will say a prayer for you
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-13-2010, 10:47 PM
Waterlogged's Avatar
Waterlogged Waterlogged is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 500
Capt don't be to hard on yourself you will be able to find and repair the wire. I have temporarily fixed them with a little wire and wire nuts. Here if it's on private property I will call the phone Co. to fix it and I have never been charged. Actually I will call if it's off property too
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 08-14-2010, 06:35 AM
AI Inc's Avatar
AI Inc AI Inc is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 21,182
Locator guy that subs for phone, cable told me the other day that Fios is untracable.
I can see this being a major azz ache in the coming yrs.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 08-14-2010, 09:29 AM
txgrassguy's Avatar
txgrassguy txgrassguy is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: south enough that spanish is necessary
Posts: 3,093
As these guys said a simple wire nut and muti-strand will easily repair most older phone lines.
I never tried wiring a jack to the 521, I simply removed the wires from the interface panel on the side of the house, connected the red to an exposed lead then grounded to an electrical socket if a copper grounding rod wasn't available. Trace to the problem then splice.
How far off of the locate did you sever the lines? I ask as 3' is usually the minimum one has to stay away from the locate to avoid paying for the splice.
In my a.o I have a much greater problem with incorrectly buried propane lines by the gas companies. Those I refuse to repair, the client has to pay for the gas company to correct. What I do in these cases is trench in a line at code approved depth so the gas line may be properly installed. And I get paid for the trenching too.
__________________
Nice Try = You Suck Spelled Differently
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 08-14-2010, 10:58 AM
Waterlogged's Avatar
Waterlogged Waterlogged is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 500
When I started out, years ago, we hardly ever located anything. I remember one time we cut a gas line on private property, in the back yard. We called the gas company first. That was a big mistake. They came out and said, "Yep, you cut the gas line, call a plumber". And they yanked the meter.
It was in December and the house was heated with gas. The plumber came out, same day, and fixed it. The gas company did not come out for three days to replace the meter. My boss had to put the customer up in a hotel for three days. Plumber said to call him first next time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 AM.

Page generated in 0.10317 seconds with 8 queries