Register free!
Search
 
     

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-15-2000, 05:29 PM
Matt Matt is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Western,NY
Posts: 161
I have a 89 chevy k1500 that I recently had a oil sending unit installed on because old one was leaking. Now the oil presure auge keeps bouncing back and forth. It doesn't normally get any lower than 30 but will occaisionally peg all the way to right. It is normally under aload when it does this and at the same time the temp. will increase up above 210. What do you think could be causing this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-15-2000, 08:25 PM
plowking35 plowking35 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: S.E. CT
Posts: 1,687
Has to be electrical. Check the wire running from the sending unit to the gauge cluster. If that all checks out, then it may be the gauge cluster itself.<br>Dino<p>----------<br> Professional Ice and Snow Management <br>Products:Services:Equipment www.sima.org
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-16-2000, 07:23 PM
John DiMartino John DiMartino is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Walden,NY
Posts: 2,555
You might have a defective guage,if the old one didn't do it,it would be the fist thing I suspect.I also have done a lot of these and this is what I've found.I use only Geniune GM senders after to many aftermarket ones did exactly what yours is doing.It is not worth the 2 dollars you save,pissed off customers dont come back. Also you might get the wrong one by accident and get false readings.Make sure you get a 0-30-60 sender if you have a 0-30-60guage.GM also has a 0-40-80 sender and guage in V-6's,and V-8's 1994 and later.Good luck and dont tear into the dash until you try another sender.<p>----------<br>John D<br>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-17-2000, 06:31 AM
Matt Matt is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Western,NY
Posts: 161
John & Dino thanks for your suggestions I am going to start with a lose ground or other electrical problem just to make sure that everything was hooked up right when the unit was installed if that doesn't cure the problem I will change the sending unit using a GM unit.<br>Thanks Again Matt
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 AM.

Page generated in 0.06890 seconds with 7 queries