Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-24-2014, 05:35 PM
inzane's Avatar
inzane inzane is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SouthEast
Posts: 1,759
having problems with firefox and my website.

figured it can't hurt to ask..

I'm using wordpress, my website loads perfectly in IE and Chrome. But today i noticed it just doesn't work most of the time in firefox. It will load up perfectly at times, but alot of the times it won't load the frames.. or looks like it was built in 1998. I know its because of the SSL certificate. so if i don't type in https it works fine. I've checked for SSL errors, there are none that i can see. as long as a user doesn't enter my site into firefox with https before the address then it works.. however, clicking on my site from google organic listing sends it to https.

Is there any kinda re-direct script to detect a users browser and send firefox users to the non https version? i can't find nothing like that on google.. Not really sure where to turn. I hate firefox!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-24-2014, 05:37 PM
Kawizx62003 Kawizx62003 is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Transition Zone
Posts: 876
I had to install a plug-in on my WordPress site. I was not getting the certificate to show up in chrome. I believe it is called SSL content fixer. I also ended up using a plug-in to use H TTP S I can get that for you if you need
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-24-2014, 05:40 PM
Kawizx62003 Kawizx62003 is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Transition Zone
Posts: 876
I have ssl insecure content fixer, word press HTTP S, and clean SSL plugins.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-24-2014, 05:58 PM
inzane's Avatar
inzane inzane is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SouthEast
Posts: 1,759
its comming up secure on firefox.. it just won't load correctly.. half the time it looks broken, sometimes it works.. its the strangest thing. its only when i use https. it works perfectly in chrome and IE. I did install a plug-in to fix ssl errors.. there where just a few. there haven't been any after that.. i checked it out on a few different sites that had those free ssl checkers.. so, not sure how reliable that is, there could still be something wrong i guess. I will check and try to get the plug-ins you mentioned as well and see what happens. thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-24-2014, 06:02 PM
tonygreek's Avatar
tonygreek tonygreek is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 2,827
I see the site loading the exact same in the latest builds of both Chrome and Firefox.
__________________
a guy who knows the lawn industry, branding, and web strategy
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-24-2014, 06:45 PM
inzane's Avatar
inzane inzane is online now
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SouthEast
Posts: 1,759
the https plug-in helped.. evidently my site has mixed stuff that firefox doesn't like.. even though every ssl checker i've used said its all secure nothing wrong. is there any better recommended ssl checkers out there? I'd like to try to fix that..

the https plugin atleast will re-direct to http for users with browsers that aren't showing my site fully secure.. so firefox will load my site fine now to those that way.. i don't need SSL really that badly, my client portal is a link to service autopilot URL, and thats secure through them.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-24-2014, 08:06 PM
greg8872 greg8872 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Upper Arlington, Ohio
Posts: 275
The issue that you were probably having is that while you were browsing to https://www.yoursite.com/ if you looked at the source code, wordpress was telling it to load things like the CSS via http://www.youriste.com/..../style.css and Firefox for your protection was blocking it since THAT call is not via a secure connection. That is one of the things that some of the plugins do, is detect that it is a page you want secured, so it will not only force it to be secure, it will rewrite all references to assets to use https:// instead of http://
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:10 PM.

Page generated in 0.06561 seconds with 9 queries