Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 09-02-2010, 03:47 PM
LawnSite Member

Starting out needing lawns, how to deal with people asking for low price on cuts

Hey all. I'm new in the lawn service business and still needing yards. But some owners are asking unreasonable offers. I have my minimum cut of $25, that being a small yard with no obstacles. Since I'm new at it I want as many yards as I can possibly get. But to give an example, I had a lady ask me to come by and give an estimate. The yard I wouldn't do for less than $45. Its split into 2 Fences in back yard with 3 or 4 cut down trees with the stumps still there with a few other not needed obstacles. Front yard is on a steep incline, pretty damn steep with roots from 2 trees coming up out of the yard in all kinds of places. Its one of the yards that would be a pain to mow. She said her old grass mowers did it for $35. Scenarios like this are rare or its something I'm just gonna have to get used too?

Thanks in advance or any tips. I just don't want to sell myself short or get taken advantage of. But I don't want to be greedy.

Josh
Old 09-02-2010, 04:09 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Id get use to it, real use to it
Old 09-02-2010, 06:58 PM
LawnSite Member

Odds are she's stretching the truth on the $35 for her old crew. I had a guy do this with me, come to find out he didn't fire his old crew yet and we showed up at the same time on the same day. Needless to say I got the truth from the crew leader, it was almost double the price the customer told me he was paying. All you can do is be firm and don't worry too much about it. Be professional and chances are you'll get a phone call as soon as that grass needs cut and you'll hopefully get your price.
Old 09-02-2010, 08:12 PM
LawnSite Member