Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:25 AM
germann germann is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 148
float switch

I'm having trouble with a float switch in a fountain. I wired it into the valve test so it is always active (unless the float switch is up) because it loses so much water from over spray. it runs every 20 mins for one min. roughly, will this create solenoid problems from over use? What brands of float switches do you use and are there different features than just off/on?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:48 AM
bcg bcg is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tx
Posts: 1,770
Use a mechanical float valve (like a toilet float) instead of an electric float switch for this application. It will last a lot longer.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2010, 09:57 AM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,826
try something like this

http://www.poolmiser.com/poolmiser.htm

there are many others on the market to choose from, you'll need to bypass the valve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2010, 03:06 PM
germann germann is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 148
This is a small fountain with only a 10-15 gallon bottom pool that i can not get a float valve to fit in. I only have room for a 1/4" pipe to refill it with coming up the center sleeve with the wiring for my float switch, and the pump and lighting wires.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2010, 03:11 PM
1idejim's Avatar
1idejim 1idejim is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: State of Jefferson
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by germann View Post
This is a small fountain with only a 10-15 gallon bottom pool that i can not get a float valve to fit in. I only have room for a 1/4" pipe to refill it with coming up the center sleeve with the wiring for my float switch, and the pump and lighting wires.
why didn't you tell us this to begin with? post a picture and i'll do some digging in my stash, we should be able to come up with something
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2010, 07:46 PM
Mark B's Avatar
Mark B Mark B is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Burlington/Buxton N.C
Posts: 985
There is a little giant pump that work. I have bought them at tractor supply.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:19 AM.

Page generated in 0.07860 seconds with 7 queries