Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-09-2010, 01:19 PM
LawnSite Member

Possible new business advise needed

Hi, I am new to the site. I specifically joined to research the landscape curbing part of the business. This may not be the correct forum, but I'll try it anyways. I am not currently in the lawn care business, but spent many of my younger years working for one, and 5 years doing herbicide/pesticide service, so I'm not a complete newb.

I have a good friend (retiring) who wants to sell me a complete, nearly new "Lil Bubba" system for a good price and am thinking of getting into the business. I am pounding the internet and local area looking for any info and opinions I can find to help with my decision.

I have researched and personally met with each (only 2) local company I can find currantly in this business. I have experience working with concrete, so I think given enough practice time, it shouldn't be hard to pick up the skills needed. My plan is to be strictly part-time, I have a good career which only requires me to work 14-15 days per month. I already own a 2500 cummins 4x4, so thats taken care of. I plan to make a decision by the end of the month.

I do realize this is probably not the best time of year to start, or the best economy. I have about 8-10 jobs lined up (relatives and friends) for my "practice yards". I own some worthless land out in the country I plan to start with 1st, probably using only wet sand till I work out the kinks and get a little more familiar with the process. I have made contact with several leads, contractors and realitors I've gotten to know over the years in an attempt to judge the market for potential business. Most seem to think its a good opportunity as long as I plan to be strictly part-time. I think 1-2 jobs per month should cover my expenses and hopefully get me through until spring.