Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 10-12-2010, 08:00 PM
LawnSite Member

need some start up suggestions and maybe tips

Well, i just bought a brand new truck to get me closer to starting my business. I currently work in the landscape industry and am going to school for ornamental horticulture and taking classes to be a certified horticulturist. By next spring I should have my cert and hope to get my business going... here is where I am stuck. I want to start small part time and have about 6-7K of spending on equipment. I plan on getting a Dump triailer to haul equipment and use for dumping brush dirt etc. I plan on working during the day and any business I get over the winter from marketing I will do after I am done my "real" job. I am 22 and dont mind working after work haha. I dunno whether to get into mowing and have that weekly cash flow from lawns or to do mulching edging prunnning etc to start instead of mowing? Any suggestions?
Old 10-12-2010, 11:44 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

This time of the season I wouldn't worry about starting with mowing. You could start with the mulching and hedges because it is now time for that and will be time for it again before mowing season ever kicks back in. At that point you will know if you need the weekly cash flow from mowing.

The first and only thing that you need to be thinking about right now is MARKETING. If you get the work then you will find a way to get it done.
Old 10-13-2010, 08:06 PM
LawnSite Member

Thanks for your reply. But what I am looking for is to see what might be a better route for me to go in the spring of 2011. I have the marketing figured out, I just need to decide what services I should provide to start out.
Old 10-18-2010, 08:45 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I would start with mowing because it gets your foot in the door for other work. The cash flow is great also. We charge credit cards the same day and have the money in the account 7 am the next morning.
Posted via Mobile Device