Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-12-2010, 09:17 PM
RABBITMAN11's Avatar
RABBITMAN11 RABBITMAN11 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Carmel Indiana
Posts: 1,317
Slit Seeding two Acres

I spent 8 hours slit seeding two acres. One pass only. I would be there forever if I would have went two directions. Plan on doing a aeration and overseed in spring.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-12-2010, 09:33 PM
corey4671 corey4671 is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Somewhere in TN
Posts: 2,939
Quote:
Originally Posted by RABBITMAN11 View Post
I spent 8 hours slit seeding two acres. One pass only. I would be there forever if I would have went two directions. Plan on doing a aeration and overseed in spring.
which seeder do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-12-2010, 09:59 PM
RABBITMAN11's Avatar
RABBITMAN11 RABBITMAN11 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Carmel Indiana
Posts: 1,317
24 inch turf revitalizer.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-12-2010, 10:04 PM
grassman177's Avatar
grassman177 grassman177 is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: leavenworth, kansas
Posts: 9,794
not the machine for the job, but got it done i guess. i have a lawn i did with a slit seeder we have once and it took quite a while, but i did not do the whole lawn. it has issues i have found in clogging up the seed metering tube flanges. that and it gets "stuck" and does not move and you have to monkey it around to get it to start going again. i have no idea, i have tensioned the tines very well, not really any better. it has the 8hp honda, and i think the issue is it is underpowered. this is a pretty big slit seeder, like a mataway but classen brand.
__________________
all is fair in love and grass! Man, it smells like sheet, do you smell that!!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2010, 10:13 PM
RABBITMAN11's Avatar
RABBITMAN11 RABBITMAN11 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Carmel Indiana
Posts: 1,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by grassman177 View Post
not the machine for the job, but got it done i guess. i have a lawn i did with a slit seeder we have once and it took quite a while, but i did not do the whole lawn. it has issues i have found in clogging up the seed metering tube flanges. that and it gets "stuck" and does not move and you have to monkey it around to get it to start going again. i have no idea, i have tensioned the tines very well, not really any better. it has the 8hp honda, and i think the issue is it is underpowered. this is a pretty big slit seeder, like a mataway but classen brand.
Yeah it would have been nice to use something bigger. But it got done and I made a nice chunk of change on it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2010, 10:15 PM
lawn king's Avatar
lawn king lawn king is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: abington massachusetts
Posts: 2,129
If your going to slice seed big acreage, a tractor with a rear pto slicer is the way to go! Life is to short to spend 8 hours walking behind any machine!
__________________
When i find myself in times of trouble, mother mary comes to me, speaking words of wisdom let it be.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-12-2010, 10:22 PM
RABBITMAN11's Avatar
RABBITMAN11 RABBITMAN11 is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Carmel Indiana
Posts: 1,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by lawn king View Post
If your going to slice seed big acreage, a tractor with a rear pto slicer is the way to go! Life is to short to spend 8 hours walking behind any machine!
I have a sulkey so at least I didn't have to walk!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-12-2010, 10:50 PM
sweetjetskier sweetjetskier is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: CT Shoreline
Posts: 402
2 years ago I demoed a turf revitalizer for a day, double pass on 58,000 sq ft, 70/30 blue rye.

It was a really long day,slight hill to the property,not bad.

I sold the job for $6700 and made a lot of money for a days work.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-12-2010, 11:18 PM
Toro 44's Avatar
Toro 44 Toro 44 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bucks County PA
Posts: 155
Did you have to rake up a lot of thatch?

You guys with tractors and PTO overseeders, do you ever remove the debris that comes up with over seeding?

I'm still second guessing my process. There has been so much demand for seeding that I haven't had time to rake up a lot of thatch and still get the seed in before it gets too cold.

BTW I'm using a 20" 9 horse revitalizer.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-13-2010, 08:59 AM
grassman177's Avatar
grassman177 grassman177 is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: leavenworth, kansas
Posts: 9,794
i only disperse the large clumps of thatch, other than that it is good to leave behind for mulch
__________________
all is fair in love and grass! Man, it smells like sheet, do you smell that!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:17 PM.

Page generated in 0.08961 seconds with 7 queries