Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 10-14-2010, 02:52 PM
LawnSite Member

who goes door to door?

Im just starting out and I was wondering if any one goes door to door? What is your approach? Does it work?
Old 11-20-2010, 03:43 AM
LawnSite Member

I did the door to door thing this past season due to the amount of lowballers and travellers we had in my area. Its not enough to simply go door to door and pass out literature. You will have to do the numbers and ratio game and be well practiced in the art of making the sale.
The trick is to talk to as many property owners as possible and be able to quickly determine whether or not you are wasting your time with each one of them. If they are not interested then thank them for their time and move on quickly to the next one. It doesnt take much to determine who is interested as opposed to who is not interested. If they are semi-interested then make a name and address list of all the semi-interested in that neighborhood. Photocopy the list and go back to each individual address and give that list to the property owner and tell them if two or more people in the neighborhood agree to have their driveway sealed then every property owner on the list will be given a $0.02 psf discount.
You will be looking for a sales ratio and what that means is for every "x-number" of property owners you talk to "x-amount" of them will hire your services.
If you talk to 15 property owners and potential customer number 14 hires you that will be your 15 to 1 sales ratio. If you talk to 45 property owners and numbers 44, 47 and 49 hires you that will be your 15 to 1 sales ratio. You may experience a 15 to 1 ratio or a 25 to 1 ratio.
The trick is determining and knowing your sales ratio number so you dont give up or prematurely drop your prices because you arent getting positive sales responses day in and day out.