Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 10-23-2010, 07:57 AM
LawnSite Member

walker bagger mower and leaf removeal

We just got a walker bagger with a 48 inch deck for leaf removal and possibly for mowing all our properties next year. I went to a yard yesterday to do trial and error to see how long it would take it was a normal 12 to 15 min. yard for my toro with 60 inch deck it took an hour and a half. Between the pine needle's clogging the chute and the deck and the 12 times I emptied the hopper I thought I would go crazy. In the meantime the other guy blowing out the mulch beds stood around for 30 min. waiting on me. this is my first year doing leaf removal any suggestions would be great.
Old 10-23-2010, 08:59 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

More experience is the only way you are going to learn.

If its an older Walker the blower fan may be a little worn which affects suction and how much it shreds. If it's a small engine that will also have a negative affect.Go slow--let the machine do its work. Explore other ways to mulch it down a little first.
Old 10-23-2010, 09:28 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

If the fan housing is dented it can cut down on efficiency too. Try different blade combos. Gators tend to shred leaves and needles into confetti. Please tell me you aren't charging mowing prices for leaf removal. Where are you dumping, could your guy be loading while you cutting? Someday I will get the biggest diesel engine they offer with the lift and dump hopper.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 10-23-2010, 09:32 AM
LawnSite Platinum Member

When doing leaf cleanups with my Walker, I just dump[ed the leaves directly onto my landscape trailer. As soon as the hopper filled, I would the mower backwards up the trailer ramp/gate. My helper stayed on the trailer. He would quickly dump the hopper and