Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 10-24-2010, 09:55 AM
LawnSite Member

Winterizing Irrigation System with no Power

Ok, I'll start by saying I'm no irrigation expert, nor do I sell myself as such. I do however winterize a lot of vacant home that we manage (lot of foreclosures) and some have irrigation systems. Some, are the Homedepot 4zone variety with inexpensive sprayers etc, some are the large multi zones with larger pop up sprinkler heads. Often these homes have no electricity on, and I'll likely never see them again, so adding pigtails for remotes seems like it may be a waste.

So, I'm trying to find the correct way to drain/winterize them. I'm in Alabama, but many of my banks request a winterization. I've looked at a few irrigation companies, and most just drain, they don't mention anything about blowouts.

I've yet to find a irrigation system with an above ground backflow preventer with blowout connections. Actually, many of these systems (smaller ones) just have a valve box and thats it. I look at these valve and done know if I need to disassemble, just crack some of the screws to let them bleed. At my home, I had a cracked main 2 years ago (at the street), and the water company told us it was because we didn't winterize our irrigation system. He said loosen the 1/4 " screws to the right of each valve, letting air in, and the system will drain itself. Um, is this correct?

Again, calling a local irrigation isn't a real option, I don't want to wast their time, because I wont be able to hire them retail to do it, and honestly, I haven't heard one yet that does anything other than drain. I don't think our irrigation installers plan for a rough winter.

For you guys in the South, what is typical to winterize these systems when no blowout ports are in place?

If there is no power, do you just hook up a generator to the controller or is there a simpler option?

What's a typical time it takes to perform?