Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-08-2010, 02:36 PM
Decoste76 Decoste76 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MASS
Posts: 155
Strobe Lights

I know this isnt the place for this but its worth the shot. I have a whelen strobe light system on my truck it have strobes in the front headlamps and on the rear. I was wondering if i could install my Amber on my roof to this control box so that i dont have to plug it into the cigarett lighter and i can control them all with just one single switch let me know if this is possible i know i would have to replace the 12v cig lighter with the right adapter to plug it into the strobe power supply but will it work???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-08-2010, 02:45 PM
ajslands ajslands is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decoste76 View Post
I know this isnt the place for this but its worth the shot. I have a whelen strobe light system on my truck it have strobes in the front headlamps and on the rear. I was wondering if i could install my Amber on my roof to this control box so that i dont have to plug it into the cigarett lighter and i can control them all with just one single switch let me know if this is possible i know i would have to replace the 12v cig lighter with the right adapter to plug it into the strobe power supply but will it work???
NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-08-2010, 02:58 PM
studebaker48 studebaker48 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: columbus,ohio
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decoste76 View Post
I know this isnt the place for this but its worth the shot. I have a whelen strobe light system on my truck it have strobes in the front headlamps and on the rear. I was wondering if i could install my Amber on my roof to this control box so that i dont have to plug it into the cigarett lighter and i can control them all with just one single switch let me know if this is possible i know i would have to replace the 12v cig lighter with the right adapter to plug it into the strobe power supply but will it work???
well it depends if it is an led you can you have to buy a small interceptor to splice into your wiring to make it flash . it cost like 10 bucks here we use them all the time go to plowsite lol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-08-2010, 03:25 PM
ajslands ajslands is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,237
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajslands View Post
NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted via Mobile Device
Oops didn't quite read it right, you can hook it up to the control box but not the power supply. hook it up to a diffrent switch though.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-08-2010, 06:29 PM
Decoste76 Decoste76 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MASS
Posts: 155
Well yeah there's two open spots for me to plug it in but I don't know how I'm going to wire it... It needs to be a three male end but the amber strobe is a cig lighter I wonder if I can just buy the male pins but also there's only two wires for the strobe + and - and the other strokes have three male pins
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2010, 07:10 PM
ajslands ajslands is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2,237
That 3rd wire is a ground. so bolt it to the chassis or something like that.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-08-2010, 07:52 PM
YourYardGuy's Avatar
YourYardGuy YourYardGuy is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Washington State
Posts: 13
Not so sure what you are trying to accomplish is gonna work. You could easily as said before cut the cord on your standalone strobe unit and wire it to a seperate switch along with the hidaway strobes but im pretty sure that wiring a stand alone unit that already has a circuit board in it for the strobe function into a power supply will not work. the power supply is for hidaway strobes or bulbs that dont already have any flash circuit boards in line with it (hope that makes sense.) the larger/multi head power supplies take the place of the circuit boards and switching devices in most of whelens stand off units and lightbars. if all else fails call whelen tech support if you have any doubts.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-08-2010, 10:33 PM
Rickco Rickco is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Becket Ma.
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Decoste76 View Post
I know this isnt the place for this but its worth the shot. I have a whelen strobe light system on my truck it have strobes in the front headlamps and on the rear. I was wondering if i could install my Amber on my roof to this control box so that i dont have to plug it into the cigarett lighter and i can control them all with just one single switch let me know if this is possible i know i would have to replace the 12v cig lighter with the right adapter to plug it into the strobe power supply but will it work???
In Ma. it is illegal to have strobes in your head lights and the rears have to be amber. If they are red you are illegal. You might get away with it but still outlawed,just dont let the wrong cop see you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-09-2010, 10:29 AM
Decoste76 Decoste76 is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: MASS
Posts: 155
there not in headlights there in the two directionals
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:02 PM.

Page generated in 0.10586 seconds with 7 queries