Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 12-04-2010, 01:49 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Deere TLB110 Opinions

Wondering if any of you have any experience with these 110tlbs. I usually never even think twice about these machines, but I saw one the other day and its got me thinking. I am a sole owner operator and to just have to take one machine to a site would be nice. I have a Deere 27C and an RC30 right now, and would consider replacing both with a 110. From what I can see, the backhoe has fairly similar capacity to my mini ex, but the loader has much more lift capacity than my little 30. My main concern would be digging along side a house for wet basement repair. Ive never operated a backhoe, but it seems like it would be a tough dig not being able to offset the boom. I'd get a 110 with a factory cab so I could put a snowblower on it in the winter, it obviously can run 3 pth attachments, plus has a skidsteer universal mount. To me it seems like a very versatile machine, just not sure how efficient it is. Also, do they have the stick controls or joystick? And I hope they'd have changeable pattern controls cause I'm pretty stuck on Cat controls.
Attached Images

Old 12-04-2010, 02:07 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Location: Louisville KY mainly... I bounce from place to place.
Backhoes (especially wobble sticks) are extremely easy to operate, and not much different that excavators. Offsetting the boom shouldn't be and issue, at leat in my experience, but I was on a backhoe before excavator, so I was used to working around it's faults.

And if you are used to, in any way, to a loader tractor, these little TLBs are no issue to run.

Now, to a broader audience, and to stir up Stu's comments on backhoes, TLBs are a useful asset. While they won't replace an SSL/CTL, or Excavator, with a decent operator, it can accomplish 90-95% of what these tow machines do at a lower cost, and with one machine.
Old 12-04-2010, 02:10 PM