Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 12-05-2010, 12:15 PM
LawnSite Member

If you were in my situation

O.k. so here it is. I currently have a very good job. Good pay, good benefits great owner and co-workers. I am a designer/cnc programmer and i am the manager of the prototype department where i work. I work for one of the large Nascar cup teams (rather not say which one for now). I have good hours and a good work enviroment. Stress is the only negative and the state of the Nascar industry the last couple of years has been bad also. I had a part time LCO about 10 years ago (when i was working for a different Nascar team). I decided to sell the company when i moved to the team i currently am with.

I have been thinking real hard the last 2 or 3 years about starting a business on the side for now with the intent of going full time eventually. I am trying to decide between a Lawn business or a machine shop. First about the lawn business. I live in a pretty low income area of Southwest V.A. to begin with. Not alot of places to work around here. I have a couple of larger cities within an hour of me but not sure how viable it would be with the travel (i do travel an hour and 15 minutes one way to work now however). There would not be many of the high dollar landscape projects around here. Maybe one or two here and there. There are alot of retired people from up north that have been moving here in the last 5 or 6 years or so and i think that is only going to increase. I am good friends with 2 of our county board members and they both say tourism and people moving here from outside the area are going to be the future of our area. My dad currently owns 4 businesses and he has said forever that there is no money in our area (although he does seem to do pretty good himself). I do have a wife and 3 kids that i have to support as well. My wife is a nurse and works full time so insurance is not a determining factor for me.