Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 12-19-2010, 04:14 PM
LawnSite Member

Trimmer/edger combo or stand alone?

I'm just starting out and I'm looking for a commercial trimmer and edger. Can you share you oppinions on trimmer/edger combos or stand alone units. My son and I are just starting out and we only have a few mid sized residential accounts. Mostly grass no heavy weeds but a couple have chain link fences. We plan on getting a few commercial properties and I need something that's tuff but affordable. And what manufacturers do you preffer?
Old 12-19-2010, 04:28 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Just my personal opinion but I'd prefer seperate units. Combos are good, but if used everyday, the moment you need it for something special, like ext. clippers or a pole saw, somethings wrong with it. Besides, for the money you spend on a combo unit, you can get both seperate. Then if one goes down, you've still got the other.
My preferances are Redmax & Echo.

Just my opinion, and we know how THOSE are.
Old 12-19-2010, 04:29 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

You also would be able to work at the same time!!
Old 12-19-2010, 04:49 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

I like the combo units like the Stihl Kombi. They are great if you use many different attachments. Plus if you plan on getting several attachments it is cheaper to get the combo units, but you have to have 3 attachments or more to make it cheaper than buying separate units.

I have both dedicated units and a Stihl Kombi unit. The Kombi is used as more of a back-up machine, specialty tool or just around my house.

I prefer Stihl handheld equipment, I've had great experiences with stihl for many years. But you should decide which brand by what is the best dealer in your area. Any major brand like Stihl, Redmax, Echo, etc. should be just fine.
John Deere walkbehind
81"x18' trailer
Stihl handhelds
Old 12-19-2010, 07:12 PM
LawnSite Platinum Member