Register free!

Old 02-16-2011, 01:35 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Turtles, Anyone?

I have been asked to give a consult and estimate on the construction of a Turtle Pond. Though not one of my main avenues of endeavor, I know that turtles, by nature, are nasty critters, so the usual water quality concerns need to be addressed (skimmer, Filter etc.) I also know that they need to sun themselves quite often and they like to burrow underwater.
The client has emphasized the fact that they were not particularly concerned about aesthetics and pretty aquatic plantings but just wanted a pond for her pets.
If anyone has had any experience in this area, please advise me on any peculiar idiosyncrasies concerning turtles, their culture and habitat, that I need to be aware of.
Old 02-16-2011, 01:44 PM
LawnSite Member

I am no expert on turtles but I have had customers ask about putting turtles in their ponds. I do know that there are a variety of types of turtles kept as pets and that will influence your design. One challenge is making sure they don't have an avenue of escape. I also learned they can be hard on certain types of plants. Also, most pet turtle species are fairly small so working on the proper scale will be important also. That is about all I have.
Old 02-16-2011, 02:17 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jp14 View Post
I am no expert on turtles but I have had customers ask about putting turtles in their ponds. I do know that there are a variety of types of turtles kept as pets and that will influence your design. One challenge is making sure they don't have an avenue of escape. I also learned they can be hard on certain types of plants. Also, most pet turtle species are fairly small so working on the proper scale will be important also. That is about all I have.