Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-11-2002, 01:59 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Commercial or not???

This is my first year to do lawns full time. I have picked up 30 residential customers in a short period of time. I use myself and 1 helper to get them done. I want to sign up a few commercial accounts but don't know where to start. Calling companies and asking who I need to talk to? Looking for bid proposals in a paper or something? Any help would be much appreciated.
Old 09-11-2002, 04:05 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

First off......

Before you move into commercial accounts, make sure your all legal....tax id # workers comp, insurance, etc.

Once your straight (and I'm not saying you aren't) Go out and look for them. Make a little map of your normal route and check out what business' in that area YOU would like to service. Go after them!

You can call them and ask to tak about their maintenance plan (cold calling)

You could bring a flyer by and then follow up with a cold call...

You can go inside and ask if they bid out the contract yearly, and if so, when is it up and how do you get on the list to bid.

You can call and ask if they mind if you look around the property and drop off an estimate for maintenance.

There's a million ways. Just think of the ways people get you to buy something from them! They tell you why you need to buy from them. Put yourself out there the same way.

Personally, I like face to face, but some people don't always have time for that.

Good Luck, and if I didn't answer your question, keep throwing them out here!
Old 09-11-2002, 05:30 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

I don't know how it is in your area, but here where I live commercial work pays (on average) 50-60% of what I make doing residential lawns.