Register free!

Old 03-01-2011, 02:06 PM
LawnSite Member

Advice on this lawn.

Hey all,

I am a newbie to this site as well as the business. I have already learned alot from reading through the forums but I was a bit unsure of what to do with a specific customer and was wondering what all of you might say. I have attached some pictures of the lawn. Keep in mind we just had alot of snow melt and recent rain so the lawn is saturated. In our area (DE/NJ) it is currently between 40-50 degrees daily but we do occasionally get a 60 degree day here and there.

Here is the situation... This customer wants his lawn to look as good as possible this summer b/c he has a few things going on (graduation parties, bbq's, whatever...). He has alot of bare spots as well as a decent amount of weeds. Im usually applying the normal weed preventative now (next couple of weeks) and then continuing with regular weed and feed treatments. Then in the fall I would dethatch, aerate, overseed. However, under these circumstances, should I dethatch and seed now (skipping the pre-emergent) and then try to control the weeds after they emerge? I don't think I have enough time to allow for both pre-emergent and seeding. Is there a pre-emergent that will not effect the seeds?
Attached Images

Old 03-01-2011, 04:29 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Definite snow mold - is the damage in that first picture due to snow mold?

Does the property have dogs rooting it up? If this is some kind of pet damage, your whole discussion is moot and the homeowners will just have to live with a mediocre lawn.
21" Toro SR4 Super Recycler
Stihl KM90 Kombi w/ straight shaft trimmer & tiller heads
Husqvarna 125B Blower
PG Magnum
Turfco XT5 Aerator
Turfco LS-22 Overseeder
EcoLawn 200 Applicator

I can do all things through Him who gives me strength.
Philippians 4:13
Old 03-01-2011, 04:34 PM
LawnSite Member

Thanks DA