Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 03-03-2011, 02:00 PM
LawnSite Member

Site Development

Long time lurker, first time poster. Just wanted to run a few ideas by people who do this every day. I am in the planning process for an athletic development on about 60 or so acres. Mainly concerned with the dirt work, as my background is dealing with once the grass is already growing. I have attached a picture of the site and color coded a few things I have questions about.

BLUE line is the existing creek.

RED line will be a 3-5 foot high dike to keep flooding off of the fields. Dike will be between 15 and 30 feet wide.

YELLOW area is the irrigation and storm water retention pond. Pond will be about 6.5 acres in size with a depth of 10-12 feet at summer pool.

My questions relate to the excavation of the pond. I will be doing most of the work myself with help from some friends. The big hitch with the pond is that we need to screen about 75000 yd3 of the soil. I want to handle the soil as little as possible.

The excavator that will be used is a Volvo 360. This is where the WHITE line comes into play. What I was thinking is that a larger dozer can feed the 360, which will load a 500 tph screener. How large of a dozer do I need to keep up with the 360?

Then once the soil is screened, it will be carried over to the BLACK area by 120' of conveyor and and 80' radial stacker. This way the dozer can feed the excavator during the week, and the on the weekend it can spread the screened soil.

Like I said before, I dont have any experience with screening soil, but I am comfortable with everything else. This will be my sole job once construction starts, and the more money we save on construction, the more we can put into extras that got cut out of the budget (Lighting mainly).

Am I off my rocker?
Old 03-03-2011, 02:03 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

big red x man.
2010 Equipment/Stripe thread Here
2009 Equipment/Stripe thread Here