Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 03-28-2011, 06:28 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Ever just sat back and thought you were lucky?

The reason I ask this question is because it seems like every year when im getting my equipment ready for the spring mowing rush im always just as happy as a pig in crap............ Maybe some folks don't think like me but i know theres some of ya out there like me that just love there job! I have been Doing lawncare fulltime on my own for 7 years now with a little help every once in a while when it get backed up. I just don't think i would have it any other way. I love mowing and leaving a job looking nice.

On the other end of the pole, I always feel so lucky to not have a boss and pretty much make up my own schedule. Not only that but I will never forget the saying that an old feller took fishing on my boat with me said. He said that his father told him this long ago. The feller said to me "Boy, when you work for yourself you make yourself money, when you work for someone else you make them money". I don't know why in the world that saying has stuck with me for all these years but it has and Ill prolly never forget it. Not that I think its bad to work for someone, its just something to be proud of I guess.

Sometimes I think folks take it for granted how lucky we actually all are to get to work outdoors. Its so funny, I have a Doctor that lives across the street from me. I do some mulching and things for him but to be honest he is prolly 1 of the best landscapers I have ever met. If he had time he would do it all himself but he is a busy with work wife and kids. He also said something that has stuck with me for so long. He walked out one day while I was mulching (22 yards of mulch at his home by the way, I have help when i do his place) and said "ya know, it seems like everyones dream job these days is to be a doctor but you are actually doing my dream job". Basically said he would love to landscape for a living.