Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-25-2002, 10:02 PM
LawnSite Member

Getting New Clients!

Ok, ive read and read and read some great stuff on here past and present. I will only be working 4-6 hours a day as this is just a part-time gig to fill my days and make some MAD money to play around with. I am going into this venture though being very serious about the quality of service I want to offer. I will be open to both commercial and residential accounts but thinking i need to market the smaller residential accounts. I will be using a 48" SCAG walk-behind, and a 21" Honda, Echo blower and weed eater. I am doing it all by myself. Now my question: I would like to have enough accounts set up to make the payment for my equipment when I buy it in the begining of 2003...whats the best way to get the 10 good customers I would like to have to begin next season? I can do nice flyers. (I am a graphic designer by degree). However I have read about these 20 template letters being sold on here and was wondering if they are worth it for a small fry like me? Do they adress the issue of STARTING A NEW CLIENT BASE or is it just to grow an exhisting business. Or should I just send out a 1000 flyers and hope to get 10 clients? any thoughts? thanks.
Old 09-25-2002, 10:15 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Well the best thing to do I would say is to pick an area where you think you will be best working in, go door to door and just get your name out there right now for next spring. I have 16 accounts from going door o door every season and just telling people who i am, giving them a flier and asking then to consider myself for services. It's a way to get your foot in the door and once you get say one customer, other people will see what you are doing and will want you to maybe do their yard. I cut people's lawns jjust because they are too busy or because they like the way I cut. I hope this helped.

P.S. I'm glad you're going with the Scag