Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-04-2011, 11:57 PM
David Gretzmier David Gretzmier is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fayetteville,AR
Posts: 3,656
also, sorry, just noticed did not answer the above, no fuse inline.
__________________
freedom
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-05-2011, 01:01 AM
PLSWest PLSWest is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: cincinnati
Posts: 6
you ran lighter gauge wire to that fixture by accident...
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-05-2011, 02:02 AM
David Gretzmier David Gretzmier is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fayetteville,AR
Posts: 3,656
heading to bed, but wire lead was 16 guage factory wire for 25 feet from fixture to splice to 12 guage with king connectors.
__________________
freedom
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-05-2011, 10:32 AM
steveparrott steveparrott is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 988
Still think there has to be poor connection somewhere - possibly with the socket wire - could be exposed and contacting the fixture body.
__________________
Steve Parrott
Communications Director
VOLT® Lighting

813.978.3700
stevep@voltlighting.com
www.voltlighting.com



Professional Quality at a Great Price
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-05-2011, 12:19 PM
Alan B Alan B is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: tampa, fl
Posts: 331
too much pregrease from volt factory? when the u shape of the lamp + pins is inserted it smooshes the grease so it oozes and creates a short.. but prongs fromvoltmeter don't ? disclaimer dave has not told me nor have we ever seen or heard this... just taking a guess.

excuse the poor typing... broke ribs and collar bone over weekend skiing with my 4 kids and using left finger.
__________________
Alan
President/CEO
VOLT® Lighting
(813) 978-3700
alanb@voltlighting.com
www.voltlighting.com


Factory Direct Outdoor Lighting
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-05-2011, 02:31 PM
steveparrott steveparrott is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 988
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gr1ffin View Post
excuse the poor typing... broke ribs and collar bone over weekend skiing with my 4 kids and using left finger.

Ouch! I know the feeling - hurts to laugh. I pray for your speedy recovery.
__________________
Steve Parrott
Communications Director
VOLT® Lighting

813.978.3700
stevep@voltlighting.com
www.voltlighting.com



Professional Quality at a Great Price
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-05-2011, 03:11 PM
Lite4's Avatar
Lite4 Lite4 is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 3,024
Hmmm, I like Alans answer. Sounds goofy enough to be it. I would think you would have checked the socket to make sure it wasn't missing a contact on one side. Problem has to be with the socket. Missing metal side wall but the base is intact for the probes. Just guessing.
__________________


Tim Ryan
Lite4 Outdoor Lighting
www.lite-4.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-05-2011, 11:50 PM
emby's Avatar
emby emby is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St.George, Ontario Canada
Posts: 374
Well if you are reading 10.9 volts at the socket without the lamp and then you place the lamp in and it will not work it must be leaking voltage somewhere when the load is attached. Which means that the circuit is not completing. Loose connection, socket or shorting out on something. It would not surprise me to find out that one of the wires going to that fixture was partially broken and therefore could not handle the load of the lamp.
Have you tested the voltage while the lamp is in the socket? If so what is it?
Much like a faulty neautral in my world.
__________________
Ken Martin
ken@copperexpressions.com
www.copperexpressions.com
Member of ILLI, , LO
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-06-2011, 12:19 AM
klkanders klkanders is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 841
I would guess that while you were checking the connection you wired a temporary new socket in right there or did you just touch lamp to connectors?
I am siding with others who say the socket is messed up inside or its a bare or pinched socket lead wire.
__________________
Keith
moonlightingbyanderson.com
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-06-2011, 07:26 PM
David Gretzmier David Gretzmier is offline
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fayetteville,AR
Posts: 3,656
socket pins and spring were fine and wire was not contacting the body. socket lead wire was not "pinched" per se, but I am going to say that is the closest answer.

after finding voltage in both the wire nut connection and the socket, and the wire nut connection would light it at the 12g, but not the socket, I cut the lead wire in the middle of the run, about 12 foot from fixture, tested it, bulb lit, and it worked fine. wire nutted back together, and then cut about 6 foot from fixture and it was not fine. between the 6 foot from the fixture and the 12 foot mark, there were no marks on the wire, but replaced it and it worked fine. stripped the entire 6 foot run later on that evening at home, on one side the wire, about 18 inches in, wire had seperated to just a strand or two for about a 3 inch run. external part of the insulation showed no nicks or stretches. the other side of the wire was fine.

my guess is at some point in the manufacturing process something just went wrong with the wire or insulating process, and then corrected itself.

went back and heat shrink tubed the lead wire on tree.

I appreciate all the answers, and as these "stump the lighting guy" items come up I am happy to share them.
__________________
freedom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.com™ - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:01 AM.

Page generated in 0.09925 seconds with 7 queries