Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 05-04-2011, 07:23 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Why is it that The price of living is going up and the price of mowing is going down

I'm really truly thinking what my opinions are at this point, I was mowing at lease 70+ lawns a week in years past, But this year has flat out sucked got out 40k postcards again this year had at lease 40 calls I have about 55 lawns now, I have been hearing for the last 2 months someone else can do it less, I've downsized big time I'm only tying to work 4 days a week because of gas, Having a Lawn Biz in KC really sucks and with talking to other LCO I'm not alone
36' Wright Stander
32' Wright Stander
Redmax Blowers
Shindawia Trimmers
Old 05-04-2011, 07:32 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Nothing worth doing is easy! Hang in there and yes you are right we are doing lawns for the same exact pricing that we where charging five years ago. It is not pretty out there.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 05-04-2011, 07:37 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I think it has to do with the way the economy is right now. Things are rough. People are either unemployed and trying to make ends meet or underemployed and trying to supplement their income.
Old 05-04-2011, 08:31 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MowHouston View Post
I think it has to do with the way the economy is right now. Things are rough. People are either unemployed and trying to make ends meet or underemployed and trying to supplement their income.
Yep I said it in another post, "We're still in a recession"
Old 05-04-2011, 08:41 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Hey man... you have to sell yourself. Maybe someone can do it cheaper but can you do it better? What do you have to offer that they don't? You need to gain peoples respect. Get in front of them face to face to give them your quote. Look them in the eye when you talk to them. Shake their hand. Thank them for their time etc.