Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 05-05-2011, 01:25 AM
LawnSite Member

What paperwork needs to be filed so I can have tax write offs? What can be deducted?

Can I deduct the truck I just bought which is my only means of transportation? My equipment? My gas? The 800 dollars in tax that I had to pay the state of Texas to buy my new truck? What can be written off and what paperwork needs to be filled so that I am an official business? I have 0 yards at this time so I'm trying to keep it simple and write off everything I can.
Old 05-05-2011, 11:18 AM
LawnSite Gold Member

Call and set up an visit with a accountant. It might cost a $100 or so but would be well spent.
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 05-05-2011, 02:34 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Agree with djagusch....talk to an accountant. I'll tell you this, any fees to your accountant should be deductible (i'm not an expert, talk to your accountant about that). But don't worry about what they will charge, how popular they are, how much they advertise, etc.

Call up several accountants and choose the one that seems to be the most interested in taking their time to answer your questions. You are going to have a lot more questions than just these few. Find an accountant that is willing to help you out.

My business provides quality lawn care, but more than that, we offer even higher customer service.
Old 05-05-2011, 04:04 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

taxes? What?
Old 05-05-2011, 04:48 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsslawncare View Post
taxes? What?
I'm glad I'm subscribed to this thread...can't wait to see what happens next.

My business provides quality lawn care, but more than that, we offer even higher customer service.
Old 05-05-2011, 05:01 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

Next thing you'll be talking insurance and all that rot too.
Old 05-05-2011, 05:04 PM
LawnSite Member