Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 05-28-2011, 07:23 PM
LawnSite Member

How much success should I expect?

I passed out about 300 flyers around my neighborhood today (I've got a pretty big neighborhood) how many responses should I expect?
I plan to pass out about 200 more flyers tomorrow as well. Is it too late to start advertising for lawn care services?

Here's my flyer
http://tinypic.com/r/s2uqtw/7

Does it look alright? Effective? Please don't call me phone # lol...

I'm only 17 and this is my first year starting a lawn care business.
What other advertising techniques would you recommended? Are Newspaper ads affective? I called my local paper and an ad is about 15 bucks. Worth it?

How much success should I expect with it being my first year?

THANKS!
Old 05-28-2011, 09:36 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

I believe you can expect a return of perhaps 2 percent. That's possibly, six phone calls.
Out of that you could get a couple of clients.

It's tough. Be good at what you do and word of mouth with eventually get
you more work too.

As for flyers, plaster the same homes again in a few weeks. That can help some-times.
Old 05-28-2011, 10:02 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

More questions. O.K., newspapers can work, but usually the people who call are looking for a low ball quote around here. I don't know how it is where you are.
Give it a try. But if you use the paper, statistically you need to advertise in it continually all season for a good return. Your ads are pretty cheap. My local papers each cost at least 50 bucks a week plus 12% tax.

Figure out what the average rate is for doing lawns in the various areas that you service
and try not to low ball just to get work.
Learn all you can about the business and always give quality work.

I'll tell you if you low ball, things could happen and you could go broke. Be sure that your prices cover your costs and taxes. Make enough extra off of each job so that