Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 06-16-2011, 10:31 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

Which Broadleaf Herbicide should I be using? (I have used 4 different ones this yr)

Hey guys...

This year I ordered Momentum from Lesco that I was planning on going with from now on, but I had some Trimec 992 left over from last year that I finished off first. I was NEVER very happy with the control that I got from Trimec though. I ended up going through all the Momentum I ordered and had some 4-speed sitting on the shelf from last year as well, so I ended up using all that too. I have been happy with the control I got from 4-speed, but its more expensive then anything else I have used and I don't like how much it foams when mixing it because I can't get a full tank with all the foaming. I needed more to finish my spring ap, so I ended up stopping at a coop and picking up the only thing they had which was strike 3 (which I have never used before but is mixing in my tank right now.

This year I have been using Lesco for all my supply needs. I just want to know what some of you other guys are using and having good results with

My costs of the 4 products I have used in 2.5 gallons are:

Trimec 992 - $65.00 (But I have not been happy with it)
Momentum - $140.00 (Used a lot of it this year, but first year using it)
4 Speed - $150.00 (Expensive - Happy with results, but it foams to much)
Strike 3 - $85.00 (First time using it)

Quality matters so much more to me then price. I need something I can spray and know I will be happy with the results. I live in Wisconsin so its cool season lawns.

Mementum is expensive, but if it works great, it is worth it... but I don't know how well it works yet. Any advise for me would be greatly appreciated.

I am educated in turfgrass science but the differences between the broadleaf weed controls have always confused me.

Thanks for your help!
Old 06-16-2011, 10:58 AM
LawnSite Fanatic

fyi...they make defoamers for chemicals.