Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 07-28-2011, 01:59 PM
LawnSite Member

Shrub Trimming Job (before and after Pictures)

Here are some before and after pictures of a 3 week shrub trimming job that I am on.

I have been trimming the trees and shrubs on this property for the last 10 years. It took a long time to get this property to look like this.

The previous landscaping company had neglected anything that had to do with the beds, they concentrated more on the lawn.

The first initial pruning took me over 2 months to complete. I have never personally seen so much dead wood and bad pruning cuts .

Any comments or opinions would be appreciated.

Old 07-28-2011, 02:25 PM
LawnSite Member

Looks Great! Very nice work...
Old 07-28-2011, 03:00 PM
LawnSite Fanatic

OK, I'm going to catch it for this, but why did you ruin those Jap maples?

I know some gardens require formal trimming but not Jap maples. Fine and dandy keeping the hedges tight, but Jap maples turned into umbrellas?

Sorry, those look terrible IMO.
Old 07-28-2011, 03:20 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Oomkes View Post

I know some gardens require formal trimming but not Jap maples. Fine and dandy keeping the hedges tight, but Jap maples turned into umbrellas?

Agreed 1000%

You've done a great job on the shrubs....the 3 large burning bush (?- can't tell exactly) look fantastic! But the Maples....oh my.

www.PerfectEarthLandscape.com

Follow my updates and pictures on Facebook and LawnSite
Old 07-28-2011, 03:43 PM
LawnSite Senior Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Oomkes View Post

I also agree only if the customer requested them to be trimmed that way and even then I would strongly advise them against it. Jap Maples should be very lightly pruned just to keep them neat but never tight like that. My 2 cents but everything else looks great!
Old 07-28-2011, 04:52 PM
LawnSite Silver Member