Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 08-10-2011, 02:01 PM
LawnSite Member

Am I a sellout?

Hey guys/gals. I own an organic lawn care company and I'm thinking of adding small amounts of liquid urea (23-0-0) to my program to help increase colour and bulk and ultimately customer satisfaction and less weeds. Up until now I've relied on topdressing, effective micro-organisms and other nutrients but have stayed away from fertilizers believing it wasn't "organic" and would do damage to microbes. The problem is, I'm not achieving the colour I want and there's still many weeds and "underwhelmed" customers. To be honest, I've been going through so much Fiesta I can't help but wonder if it would be more sustainable to use a chemical fertilizer to thicken the grass and outcompete the weeds rather than continuing to soak the lawn with Fiesta.

I have no experience using liquid urea and so I had a few questions:

1. Is urea safe for pets/people? For instance, could they go on the lawn immediately after spraying with no negative health consequences?)

2. How long does urea last (could I keep it in my garage for a year, do I need to mix it periodically?)

3. Will urea damage microbes or undo work I've done with topdressing and adding in microbes?

4. I recently won "Green Business of the Year" in my local area. I am very sensitive about not green washing or selling out? Am I? Someone said to me "well, will the customers lawn still be safe for bare feet?" That is our tagline..."go ahead, take off your shoes." I assume it would be safe so perhaps it's fine. I don't know. What do you think?

Thanks,

John
Old 08-10-2011, 02:43 PM
LawnSite Member

Actually, I think I 've found even a better option. It is a new product and called N- Sure. It's 60% controlled Nitrogen. Here's the link...http://www.growercentral.com/index.c...TOKEN=89640169
Old 08-10-2011, 04:27 PM
LawnSite Senior Member