Register free!

Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2011, 09:23 PM
Eagleseye Eagleseye is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Florida
Posts: 45
Hunter 2 wire?

Need some thoughts from u guys. Have an existing apt. complex that I have under maintence contract, and the irrigation has taken a direct hit from lighting. I have tested the system and found damage to about 37 zones. The wire has melted through out propert, even into mainline, never seen nothing like it. ( up till now ).

Their insurance is going to cover the repairs, except for 2500.00 deductable, was thinking about converting to a 2 wire system. It is more money, but they all willing to do it. The main reason for the 2 wire convertion is, I'm thinking about plowing in the wire, vs. trenching. Approx. 6300 feet worth.

Any thoughts? Yeh or Nay
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2011, 10:09 PM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,837
Just do it!
Hunter will work or Weathermatic Smart Wire.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2011, 10:11 PM
DanaMac's Avatar
DanaMac DanaMac is online now
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Somewhere in the state of CO
Posts: 13,085
How does 2 wire do with lightning strikes? Or the module or whatever it is called that attaches to the valve?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-11-2011, 10:45 PM
HokieAg07's Avatar
HokieAg07 HokieAg07 is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 352
Two wire is very vulnerable to lightning. It is imperative that the controller and two wire path be grounded; two wire path grounded every few hundred feet (varies per mfg)
__________________
Chris
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2011, 10:54 PM
Without A Drought Without A Drought is online now
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 850
Interesting topic. I have an install coming up in sept/oct, that i spec'ed 2wire. It's roughly 35 zones, nothing too crazy. I figure it'll be a nice intro to 2wire, as i've never installed one.

tips and pointers welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-11-2011, 11:15 PM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Without A Drought View Post
tips and pointers welcome.
Wire splices are critical. Do them yourself or do them yourself.
Use a high quality connector 3M DBY, DBR, DBRY. Don't use pre-filled wire nuts.
Get a good UF Cable Stripper, don't try to use a knife to cut back the jacket on the jacketed cable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2011, 12:05 AM
SPEEDSKI SPEEDSKI is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: TN
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprinkus View Post
Wire splices are critical. Do them yourself or do them yourself.
Use a high quality connector 3M DBY, DBR, DBRY. Don't use pre-filled wire nuts.
Get a good UF Cable Stripper, don't try to use a knife to cut back the jacket on the jacketed cable.
This is the #1 thing to remember!!!! Let me say it again, WIRE SPLICES ARE CRITICAL!!!

Make sure you do the splices with the proper grease packs as stated, but also make sure you have a good set a Linesman Pliers, Wire Strippers and cables strippers.

Just about 8 out of 10 issues with 2-wire end up being the connection. Hunter ACC is nice equipment with built in surge. YOU DO NOT NEED SURGE EVERY 200 FT. ACC has the surge built into each decoder.

No 2-wire requires surge every 200ft. We have installed RB, Hunter ACC & DUAL, and TUCOR. 800 - 1000ft is the norm.

We have almost 20 ACC installs and what I do like about the Hunter is the new ICD programmer. Works great for installing and service. If they run you into a budget and you only have to deal with 37 zones. Go with the DUAL, less expensive, but you will have to put sugre every 1000ft.

The DUAL is pretty cool. Love the ICORE controller.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2011, 07:23 AM
koster_irrigation koster_irrigation is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wilson, NC
Posts: 1,357
Like sprinkus said above^^

king innovation makes a UF stripper that is a life saver for 2-wire cable.

Not many people know about it, but its similiar to a potato peeler. It is a MUST for anyone working with UF wire, strips it in seconds safely.


same link...
http://www.kinginnovation.com/produc...able-stripper/
__________________
NC Irrigation License 157

Since 1994
www.kosterirrigation.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-12-2011, 09:06 AM
FIMCO-MEISTER's Avatar
FIMCO-MEISTER FIMCO-MEISTER is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Red State America
Posts: 18,701
Only one major problem with 2 wire as I see it. You are stuck using the proprietary remote. Just for that reason alone if I was to do two wire I'd use Rain Master Control Systems. I'm not even sure they have 2 wire but if they don't I'd wait til they did.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-12-2011, 09:09 AM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by FIMCO-MEISTER View Post
Only one major problem with 2 wire as I see it. You are stuck using the proprietary remote. Just for that reason alone if I was to do two wire I'd use Rain Master Control Systems. I'm not even sure they have 2 wire but if they don't I'd wait til they did.
Rain Master TWICE
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:33 AM.

Page generated in 0.09549 seconds with 7 queries