Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-27-2011, 08:03 AM
rlpsystems's Avatar
rlpsystems rlpsystems is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 470
Berkley sshm2 ... wire hydro zones together.......
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-27-2011, 08:09 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyvol View Post
Thanks Wet Boots. So is there a calculation that is used to determine the water flow? Or do I just note how many gallons per minute for each zone? F&^%$ yeah!! When I find out the water flow for each zone, how do I use that number to see if pumping from the lake will work?

Eartmgtsolutions, I have between 4 to 6 K2 sprinkler heads with 2.5 GPM nozzles over 6 zones.


Thanks Again,
Tony
You need to define your system with numbers, and match them up with a pump
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-27-2011, 09:52 AM
FIMCO-MEISTER's Avatar
FIMCO-MEISTER FIMCO-MEISTER is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Red State America
Posts: 18,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRRITECH View Post
If you are in Cumming, Ga send me a PM. We put pumps on Lanier all the time. It will depend on your elevation change as to how much water and pressure you can get. Expect to spend around $2-$3K
Here is the guy you need OP. If nothing else pay him a consulting fee to be sure you get it right.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-27-2011, 10:05 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 39,550
do you get a cut of the consulting fee?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-27-2011, 10:15 AM
FIMCO-MEISTER's Avatar
FIMCO-MEISTER FIMCO-MEISTER is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Red State America
Posts: 18,734
No but my likability factor goes up.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-27-2011, 06:36 PM
earthmgtsolutions earthmgtsolutions is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Grand Junction/Fruita Colorado
Posts: 7
Ok tony, take the 2.5 gpm times the number of heads per zone. so 6 times 2.5=15 gpm. is what you need. Now, make sure your pump can proved this flow with at least 40 psi (using a pump flow chart), in addition to the loss of pressure from lake to mainline connection. You can find those numbers online or I can help you more directly. You can email me @ Rodger@earthsolutionstoday.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-27-2011, 06:41 PM
earthmgtsolutions earthmgtsolutions is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Grand Junction/Fruita Colorado
Posts: 7
Hey tony, I am guessing a 2hp Munroe Pump will do ya. It has a 2" output for your mainline
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-27-2011, 08:34 PM
BrandonV's Avatar
BrandonV BrandonV is online now
LawnSite Gold Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Asheboro, NC
Posts: 3,618
Big thing is also what kind of valves you got. The hd orbits dont hold up well to the dirty water.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-27-2011, 08:51 PM
IRRITECH's Avatar
IRRITECH IRRITECH is offline
LawnSite Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: ATLANTA, GA
Posts: 931
Tony, I'll call you tomorrow and we'll see if we can get this sorted out for you. Thanks for the replies guys, he lives here in town, we'll get him fixed up.
__________________
The reigning Mayor of Stupidville
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-31-2011, 11:01 PM
tonyvol tonyvol is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cumming
Posts: 85
Hey guys, I was wondering if you can help me? I called around to several irrigation companies and nobody will call me back. So I've decided to do the install myself. I installed the irrigation system that I have now. My neighbor has some basic equipment to measure elevation, so below are the measurements we got. Will I be able to pump enough water to run 1 zone at a time?
I was think about getting a Berkley pump(sp.) not sure which? What else will I need to install the system bysides wire to run the pump?

Here is what I have:

6 zones with 6 rotor sprinkler heads 2.5 GPM
3 zones in backyard 2 zones with 3 rotor 2.5 GPM sprinkler heads ea, 1 zone with 4 pop up heads
Backyard elevation is 77 ft. from lake
Front yard elevation is 113 ft. from lake
400 ft of 1 1/2 pipe to backyard
Another 200 ft of 1 1/2 pipe to front yard
500 ft of wire to run pump(will get with electrician to see what size)

Thanks for your help,
Tony
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:34 AM.

Page generated in 0.09760 seconds with 7 queries