Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2011, 12:03 AM
mitchgo's Avatar
mitchgo mitchgo is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,621
new wm sl feature

I'm in the office this week (other then a install tomorrow) while my boss is out of town.

Today I walked through 3 customers that had multiple start times on program a or b . Of course they were confused. This is getting very annoying to have to always deal with this.

So the smartline series just updated there controllers to hide all additional start times in the advanced section

An email from our supplier

The issue with the WM controller only having 1 start time can be resolved by going to advanced functions – then go to Num Strt – then from there use the up arrow to add more start times. Apparently this feature was added to prevent home owners from adding a start time for every zone.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2011, 08:14 AM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,802
Here's the addendum for the Smartline that shows the new features.
I like the change that hides the additional start times.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2011, 08:17 AM
mitchgo's Avatar
mitchgo mitchgo is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sprinkus View Post
Here's the addendum for the Smartline that shows the new features.
I like the change that hides the additional start times.
All controllers should follow suit

Makes sense to me

additional start times is part of advanced programming.. So it should be in the advanced section to prevent confusion
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2011, 08:39 AM
Kiril Kiril is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: District 9 CA
Posts: 18,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchgo View Post
additional start times is part of advanced programming.. So it should be in the advanced section to prevent confusion
So are additional programs for those controllers that still use "programs" given most people don't use them, or use them incorrectly.

Some of these changes should have been included with the controller from the get go. I wonder if WM is going to provide a flash update for existing controllers since these "changes" appear to be nothing more than changes in programming code.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-30-2011, 10:18 AM
mitchgo's Avatar
mitchgo mitchgo is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,621
Ya I agree. The programs still display as normal, just hides the start times. Maybe extra programs should be hidden too
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-30-2011, 11:01 AM
FIMCO-MEISTER's Avatar
FIMCO-MEISTER FIMCO-MEISTER is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Red State America
Posts: 18,734
Before long we'll be back to an Imperial controller version.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2011, 05:24 PM
Sprinkus's Avatar
Sprinkus Sprinkus is offline
LawnSite Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,802
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiril View Post
I wonder if WM is going to provide a flash update for existing controllers since these "changes" appear to be nothing more than changes in programming code.
Last I heard you still gotta buy a new faceplate to get the updates.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-30-2011, 06:20 PM
Mike Leary's Avatar
Mike Leary Mike Leary is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Port Angeles, Washington
Posts: 20,567
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchgo View Post
Ya I agree. The programs still display as normal, just hides the start times. Maybe extra programs should be hidden too
Posted via Mobile Device
Clients should not be allowed to touch the clocks except for manual runs.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2011, 05:41 AM
Autoflow's Avatar
Autoflow Autoflow is offline
LawnSite Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 244
I have just installed 18 of these new SLs and mentioned to my supplier's rep about this new feature and he didn't know about it, so thanks Mitch. He was impressed that I knew before him.

I am working on a site for over 55's where each villa has it's own controller with one station.
The Grow In feature will also be very useful as the site is being planted now, so I will be able to use the grow in feature and hopefully not have to return to reset them all in a few months.
I love that the SL has the month to month seasonal adjustment also so I can program it all now and not have to receive 18 phone calls about how to turn it up or down.

I think the SL has some excellent features and hopefully they have the reliability to match.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-08-2011, 10:05 AM
Kiril Kiril is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: District 9 CA
Posts: 18,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Autoflow View Post
I think the SL has some excellent features and hopefully they have the reliability to match.
Good luck with that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.com™ - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:33 AM.

Page generated in 0.10132 seconds with 7 queries