Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 09-06-2011, 04:59 PM
LawnSite Member

sprinkler blowouts

I have been doing fall clean up and areating for several years. I want to start doing sprinkler blow outs. I need some info from someone experienced in doing this.
-how big of a compressor do i need for residential service, tank volume , and horse power?
- do most people just use electric and then plug into homeowners power ?
how much of an investment would i expect to put down on a used compressor for this type of job?

thanks for any help
Old 09-06-2011, 05:16 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

as little as you are going to be using it, get a tow behind from a rental company and bang them all out in day. some guys will try to use a regular air compressor because they figure it gets enough psi, but you need more cfm (cubic feet per minute) than these can give. A towbehind unit will blow out a typical residential unit atleast 3 times faster than a regular compressor and do a much more thorough job at it.

If I was you I would just sub it all to an irrigation contractor, you can make some money on the mark-up and be sure it is done right. Last thing you need is to have to replace a bunch of backflow preventors next spring. Most states require a plumber to replace backflows and pull a permit to do so, and thats not cheap
Old 09-06-2011, 05:32 PM
LawnSite Member

one thing i forgot to mention is that i was also working a full time job that i lost a month ago. so i do have alot more time on my hands . so im not sure if i need to buy a big one or not . or if the cost of renting would pay off.
I remember the first year i did aerating i rented for awhile and then bought my own machine it paid for itself in 3 months , one season , even with a full time job .
so im wanting to test the waters a bit so maybe renting would be the way to go.
thanks
Old 09-06-2011, 06:09 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by kempoone View Post