Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 09-20-2011, 03:29 PM
LawnSite Member

Want to start off correctly

Little backstory...

Past couple summers I've spent doing carpentry with my uncle.

I graduated highschool in 2010 then spent the summer doing carpentry again until I went off to college. After a year of that I realized it wasn't for me and there was no way I would ever survive in a cubicle.

April of 2011 I start the year with 2 yards and a job with a landscaper. By the end of April I had picked up another 6 full season accounts, 7 that were only springtime, and another 10 that were only once in a great while. Quit my job with the landscaper. Picked up another couple through the season. Also did a bunch of landscaping and carpentry. That brings us up to now.

2012 I want to go legit. Currently my inventory consists of:

Two Craftsman 21in FWD mowers (both can bag and mulch, both run great, purchased in '03 and '04)
Craftsman 4 cycle gas trimmer - purchased in '06, runs ok, has blower and edger attachements
Stihl HS45 hedge trimmer (just purchased)
Stihl MS-180 chain saw (just purchased)
A whole ton and a half of carpentry tools.

Vehicle wise I have a '08 Toyota Matrix given to me by a awesome aunt, 35k miles, worth around 15g. Problem is I'll get disowned if I try to sell it.

'78 Dodge Power Wagon for my work truck. I spent the winter restoring this thing and finally got it on the road in early July. Only has 22k miles and a great plow. Only problem is the body shop ****** up my hydraulic pump, screwed up all the electrical, and did god knows what to my carb.

I now realize the old Dodge was a stupid idea for a work truck, I need reliability. Problem is I have more invested in it than I can ever sell it for. I will do what ever it takes to have this thing working perfectly by next spring, even if that means missing out on plowing this winter. I'll be happy if I get 5 years out of it then buy a new F-250.