Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 09-30-2011, 09:30 AM
LawnSite Member

Ford F350 6.0 Powerstroke

I have a chance to buy a 2003 Ford F350 diesel for a good price. $8000 with 110,000 miles on it. Anyway I never owned a diesel before and am not to familiar with them. So my question is, Does anyone have experience with these engines? How do they hold up? Good power? hows the gas mileage? Thanks for any input I greatly appreciate it.
Ferris DD 61"
Ferris DD 48"
Honda HRR216
Snapper 21" Hi Vac
Stihl, Husqvarna, Kawasaki and Echo Handhelds
Solo Back Pack Sprayer
6.5x 16 Tandem Trailer
7x18 Dovetail Equipment Trailer
Old 09-30-2011, 10:05 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

I'm actually looking into buying one as well. Diesels last longer than gas, their lifespan ranges between 300-400K miles, as far as fuel economy, I'm not good with the numbers, but diesel prices can be higher tha gas, or lower than gas. But diesels are slightly more efficient then a typical gas engine.

It seems like a good deal, maybe some others will chime in here eventually

does the f350 have duallys?

Gravely
Scag
Ferris
Echo
Stihl
Old 09-30-2011, 10:07 AM
LawnSite Member

that's the first year of the 6 liter engine that a lot of people had problems with...
Posted via Mobile Device
Old 09-30-2011, 10:09 AM
LawnSite Member

Yeah I heard they lasted for ever versus gas engines. It is not a dually. It is a regular cab 8ft box which around my areas are kinda tough to find because everyone keeps them. There is one small rust spot on fender (surface) and there is fresh brakes and tires on it. I have o drive out and see it this weekend so ill know then if its something good or not. But it does seem like a good deal..
Ferris DD 61"
Ferris DD 48"
Honda HRR216
Snapper 21" Hi Vac
Stihl, Husqvarna, Kawasaki and Echo Handhelds
Solo Back Pack Sprayer
6.5x 16 Tandem Trailer
7x18 Dovetail Equipment Trailer
Old 09-30-2011, 10:11 AM
LawnSite Senior Member