Register free!


Reply
 
Thread Tools   Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-03-2011, 11:48 PM
greenmonster304's Avatar
greenmonster304 greenmonster304 is online now
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: You Know
Posts: 2,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mdirrigation View Post
No this isnt bursting , they use a winch or a cable hooked to a truck and pull the new pipe thru the old while splitting the old .
http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pipe_bursting. I think it is the same or very similar
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-03-2011, 11:52 PM
mitchgo's Avatar
mitchgo mitchgo is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,673
[QUOTE=greenmonster304;4176904]http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pipe_bursting. I think they are very similar or the same thing
Posted via Mobile Device[/QUOTE

If it splits the original pipe. I'm curious if it affects the integrity of the new pipe. I think I'm going the led route. I already repaired a break. Found another one
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-04-2011, 12:11 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,620
Aren't you in an area of shallow frost depths? It isn't like you couldn't reroute the water service line.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-04-2011, 12:20 AM
mitchgo's Avatar
mitchgo mitchgo is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,673
Well 3 hours vs 70 hours of work. I'll choose the 3 right now . Of course every situation is different. In this situation re routing is near impossible with out some severe costs.
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-04-2011, 12:57 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,620
You guys don't have a plow?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-04-2011, 01:20 AM
mitchgo's Avatar
mitchgo mitchgo is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,673
Minimum depth for this area on a municipal water service line is 24"
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-04-2011, 10:25 PM
mitchgo's Avatar
mitchgo mitchgo is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,673
This job turned into a nightmare . Service line didn't cross the driveway as I hoped. It turned. In the middle if the driveway. It cam out of the driveway about 30' away. I found the line at 6.5'. And 3' directly below a 6" left drain pipe .. effing. Insane
Posted via Mobile Device
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-04-2011, 10:31 PM
irritation's Avatar
irritation irritation is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 2,637
Your boss is using you. You've been doing this long enough and shouldn't be doing these dirty jobs.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-05-2011, 09:28 AM
mitchgo's Avatar
mitchgo mitchgo is offline
LawnSite Silver Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,673
I don't mind em.. I'll pick my battles.. I just didn't expect this one to be so bad

I was having my guy jim dig up the meter area for the first leak while I was tracing and accoustically listening.. we found the leak as it was entering the driveway to cross about 6' from the meter. It was awesomely funny to have my co-worker jim dig.

As you can see My 6' rockbar is 8-10" below grade.... This is where I found the line about 30' from the meter. Originally I was hoping the water line crossed the driveway and I could dig it up there- cut/cap to verify leak under driveway and replace. However the line turned in the middle of the roadway and followed the path of this 120' driveway..

Next step is to cut out the cement of where I think the leak is .. If it's not here the customer wants a full replacement.. With all the road rock it will probably cost 10k or so
Attached Images
     
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 10-05-2011, 11:32 AM
Wet_Boots's Avatar
Wet_Boots Wet_Boots is offline
LawnSite Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: metro NYC
Posts: 40,620
don't they ever use copper service lines up there?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2012, LawnSite.comô - Moose River Media
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 AM.

Page generated in 0.10476 seconds with 8 queries