Register free!
Search

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Click for Weather

Old 11-10-2011, 08:57 PM
LawnSite Silver Member

ZK with a bent deck

I have a ZK with a 61 inch deck. I hit a small stump and bent a blade.....and the deck. I put a couple of washers on one side of the spindle to level it back out. I was under the impression that the nice, deeper deck on the ZK was probably stronger to compensate for the extra weight, power and size. I've been using standers since 1997. I've never bent a deck before. The X has a new design. does it fold up as easily as my ZK?...I'm not happy.
Old 11-29-2011, 05:54 PM
LawnSite Member

You must hit one hell of a "small" stump to bend the deck.
Old 04-19-2012, 03:20 PM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by BCL Services View Post
You must hit one hell of a "small" stump to bend the deck.
Not really, with the added weight of the motor on the deck, the right speed, and hitting a solid object I can see how these decks would fold up.

Sorry man, any updates?
Old 04-19-2012, 04:22 PM
Sponsor

LawnGuy73,

We don't see these decks getting bent, there will always be a couple but not a number that would make us redesign the structure of the ZK deck. Speed and weight definitely can increase the chance of it happening and that is the fastest and heaviest Stander we make but the numbers don't show a problem. The ZK shell is 7 gauge and the reinforcement plate is 7 gauge which is almost 3/8" thick where the spindle mounts. The Stander X is still relatively new but we have not seen any decks get replaced on one of those.

Best Regards
Wright Mfg.
Old 04-20-2012, 05:45 PM
LawnSite Silver Member