Register free!

The Green Industry's Resource Center

Old 11-16-2011, 12:23 AM
LawnSite Member

Staying busy in the Winter

I need some serious advice and feedback on ideas to get business rolling this winter... I live in the Pacific NorthWest (Portland / Vancouver metropolitan area) and Winter is fast approaching... We don't get snow regularly here so plowing isn't something that I can do, nor am set up to do... Here are my ideas so far:
Fence & Deck Weatherization (Quick Power Wash & Stain/Sealer Application)
Power Washing Siding, Roof, Gutters, & Concrete
Moss Treatments (Moss & Mildew are Washington's State Flowers hahaha)
Tree Trimming
Yard Debris Cleanup (Is Winter a good time to cleanup all the debris/leaves?)
Outside Waterline Insulation
Compost Container Installation (Either a wooden box type or rotating barrel)

I'm just starting out and hoping to get up enough money to buy a decent 21" Walk Behind, Stihl Line Trimmer w/ attachments, and a Stihl BR600 Backpack Blower to be ready for the Spring Rush next year...

Any advice is appreciated, I am 26 years old and this is going to be my full time bread and butter business from here on out
Stihl 16 inch bar Chain Saw
Beat up MTD 21 inch Side Discharge Mower
Tired Yard Machines attachment ready Line Trimmer
WeedEater hand Blower & Hedge Trimmers
Old 11-16-2011, 12:44 AM
LawnSite Bronze Member

Good luck. I think power washing would be a good idea where you are. I have wanted to move to your area for some time now.
Old 11-16-2011, 02:34 AM
LawnSite Senior Member

start a handy-man sorta thing. do anything and everything your capable of doing well.